How do I delete a shared Google Doc?
If someone shared a file or folder with you that you don’t want to see anymore, you can remove it.
- Go to drive.google.com.
- On the left, click Shared with me.
- Right click the file you want to remove.
- Click Remove.
Why can’t I remove a shared file in Google Drive?
When you are sharing a file with someone on drive and you are not the owner of the file then you cant remove that file from your “Shared with me” folder. It’s because you don’t have the permission to do so.
How do I remove something from a shared drive?
3.4 Delete a shared drive
- Make sure the shared drive is empty. If you want to keep files or folders, move them to My Drive. Or, to delete them, move them to the trash.
- Right-click the shared drive that you want to delete. click Delete shared drive.
- Click Delete Shared Drive to confirm.
What happens if I delete a shared file from Google Drive?
If you delete a shared document, spreadsheet, or presentation that you own, it will be completely removed from Drive for all collaborators, and they will no longer have access to the document. Before deleting a document, you may want to make someone else its owner so that others can still access it.
What happens if I remove a file shared with me?
When you remove a shared file, be it within the shared with me or in your own drive, it really just removes the shortcut to that file. If you had access before, you will still have access after. If you click the link to that file after you remove it, the file will reappear in the shared with me section.
Does shared with me take up Google Drive space?
Shared items will take up space on your computer, but not Google Drive. Items that are in multiple folders will be synced to all folders on your computer, taking up more space.
How do I delete multiple documents shared with me on Google Drive?
To delete multiple files, after left-clicking the first file, hold down the CTRL key and left-click each one of the remaining files you want to delete. Continue to do this until all files have been selected.
How do I delete from my drive?
Put a file in trash
- On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Drive app.
- At the bottom right, tap Files .
- Next to the file you want to delete, tap More. Remove.
When you delete a file from a shared drive where does it go?
If you delete a file from a network share, it is gone. If you look in the Recycle Bin, it won’t be there. This happens because Windows is organized so that deleted files can be captured by the Windows Recycle bin on local drives only.